President's Message - 2017

Greetings to the AzAHQ membership and those who might be just browsing healthcare quality resources available in Arizona.  

On behalf of the board I would like to provide some perspectives on the healthcare landscape that impact us all and give an update on the state of the Association in 2017.

On the healthcare landscape, given the new administration in Washington D.C. and all of the news we hear on a regular basis, we often wonder how it will impact those who deliver and receive care.  In our 2017 educational conferences we hope to bring you content that will clarify many questions about the priorities of healthcare quality in a variety of settings. 

In the meantime, based upon independent research of varied opinions on pending changes, we can assume that some areas will continue to be important in our journey as healthcare quality professionals are the following:

  1. Access – Continuing to provide “timely” access to services
  2. Affordability – Cost per beneficiary and efficient use of resources
  3. Analytics – Use of data for improvement (even predictive) and transparency
  4. Alignment – Effectively utilizing or allocating our resources for appropriate care
  5. Accountability – Taking ownership for establishing a culture of value, quality, and safety

We will take a deeper dive into those areas throughout 2017, as an Association, so be sure to mark your calendars when you get the “save the date” messages for educational conferences.

On the subject of the Association, we maintain the same mission to serve as a resource to advance healthcare quality in Arizona through leadership, education, and communication.  We have a number of new board members who are committed to bringing value so as to support your growth in advancing quality and safety with your respective organizations.

Opportunities to serve on the board might even be on the horizon for you so stay tuned later in the year to hear of open slots where your expertise can be shared with others.


Mark Patton, CPHQ, CSSGB

President 2016-2017